Change the Mobile County Commission-

Mobile County residents should request the Mobile County Legislative Delegation to introduce legislation to expand the Mobile County commission to five (5) or seven (7) Districts. Mobile County is too large for three County Commissioners. Mobile County stretches from Calvert Alabama, Citronelle, Mt Vernon to the North to Bayou La Batre, Theodore to the South, Wilmer to the West and Downtown Mobile, Plateau Chickasaw, and Prichard to the East. In between you have Saraland, West Mobile, Maysville, Crichton, Mid Town, etc.The current three (3) member Commission set up is woefully inadequate to represent theses communities and is a relic from the 80’s. I have worked in most of these communities and they are all unique and have different needs.These five or seven Commissioners could be part-time, but better represent their communities more efficiently than this current set up. Escambia County Commission (Florida-Pensacola) has five (5) County Commissioners. Montgomery County has five (5) County Commissioners. Jefferson County Birmingham) has five (5) County commissioners. Tuscaloosa County has four (4) County commissioners. Even Jackson County Mississippi (Pascagoula, Moss Point) has five (5) County Supervisors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s